Your Provincial Executive Committee

Adriane Gear

Adriane Gear - President

Adriane Gear was elected president of BCNU in 2023. As union president, Gear is committed to ensuring that health employers treat BC’s nurses with respect and provide patients with the care they deserve.

Read more

Tristan Newby

Tristan Newby - Vice President

Tristan Newby was elected vice president of BCNU in 2023. Tristan graduated from the University of the Fraser Valley in 2010. He completed an emergency room specialty program at the British Columbia Institute of Technology in 2012. In his nursing career, he has worked in the areas of mental health, public health, emergency, and site leadership/access.

Read more

Sharon Sponton - Your PEC 2023

Sharon Sponton - Provincial Treasurer

Sharon Sponton was elected BCNU provincial treasurer in a special election in December 2023. She previously served as the provincial treasurer from September 2016 to August 2023. She has been involved with the BCNU Finance Committee, Retiree Benefit Program Committee, Human Resources Committee, and Bursary Committee.

Read more

Denise Waurynchuk- Interim OHS & MH Executive Councillor

Denise Waurynchuk - Interim Executive Councillor, Occupational Health & Safety and Mental Health

coming soon.


Meghan Friesen

Meghan Friesen - Interim Executive Councillor, Pensions and Seniors Health

coming soon.

UPDATED: March 21, 2024
Constitution & Bylaws
Constitution and Bylaws 2023
Annual Report
Annual Report 2022-2023 Cover

If you are NOT receiving updates, news, and events emailed to you, log in to the BCNU Member Portal and update your information.